Skip to content ↓
  • 01606 288170

Middlewich High School

Excellence in Learning – Achievement for All


What is the English Baccalaureate (EBacc)?
The Government has recommended a combination of GCSE subjects which are considered to best prepare students for Further and Higher Education without any barriers. The EBacc currently forms a performance measure for secondary schools. The 5 subjects are shown in this illustration:
Students would therefore need to select a Humanities subject and a Modern Foreign Language (Spanish or French) to be able to qualify for the EBacc suite of subjects.
It is highly recommended for our able students to select this Pathway if they are conscious of studying at Higher Education post Middlewich High School.