Skip to content ↓
  • 01606 537670

Middlewich High School

Excellence in Learning – Achievement for All


Welcome to the Governors Pages

Our Governing Board provides three core functions:

1.       Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

2.       Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff, and

3.       Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


The Board is made is made up of the following members:

Name of  Governor


Appointed By


Business / Pecuniary Interests

End of Current Term

Mr Colin Price

(Chair of Governors)

Parent Governor

Governing Board


FGB, Leadership & Management, Learning, Progress & Achievement Commercial Airline Pilot 20/11/2022

Miss Julie Brandreth

(Vice Chair)

Co-Opted Governor

Governing Board


FGB, Leadership & Management, Learning, Progress & Achievement

Chair of Governors at Barnton Community Nursery & Primary School and Governor at Sir John Deane's Sixth Form College.



Mr Andrew McAdam


Staff Governor

MHS Staff


FGB,  Learning, Progress & Achievement

Science Teacher at MHS


Mr Mike Finney


Co-opted Governor

Governing Board



FGB, Leadership & Management, Learning, Progress & Achievement



Mr Will Hibbert

Co-opted Governor

Governing Board



FGB, Behaviour, Safety & Inclusion, Learning, Progress and Achievement



Mr Simon McGrory

Local Authority

Local Authority


FGB, Leadership & Management, 



Ms Heidi Thurland


Ex-Officio Headteacher


Attends all committee meetings

Headteacher (MHS)


Mr Stuart Mayhead Co-Opted Governor

Governing Board


FGB,  Behaviour, Safety & Inclusion, Leadership & Management. Chair of Middlewich Youth Engagement Group, Governor at Middlewich Primary School, Exam Invigilator at Middlewich High School.  09/02/2024

Former Governors (within the last twelve months)

Name of Governor Designation Appointed By Term of Office
Mr Andrew Gibson Co-opted Governor Governing Body 20/06/2011 - 14/10/2020
Rev. Simon Drew Co-opted Governor Governing Board 01/09/2011 - 13/10/2020
Mrs Helen Clayton Parent Governor Parents 16/11/2015 - 28/09/2020
Mrs Janet Langford Co-opted Governor  Governing Board 19/05/2019 - 02/07/2020
Mr Chris Chapman Co-opted Governor Governing Board 19/05/2019 - 18/05/2020
Mr Iain Wilson Staff Governor MHS Staff 22/02/2018 - 11/05/2020

** Interest of governors who have resigned or whose term has ended must remain on the log for 12 months after they left.


If you wish to contact any of the Governors please email


Copies of the Part 1 minutes from any of the Governing Body and Sub-Committee meetings are available upon request. Please email stating which minutes you would like to receive a copy of. 

To view the school's financial benchmarking against other schools in England, please click on the following link: